Bellaghy GAA

Bellaghy GAA

The local GAA club, “The Wolfe Tones”,  was founded in 1939 and play their home games at Páirc Seán de Brún, Ballyscullion Road. The pitch was named in honour of the former club chairman who was abducted and killed by Loyalists on 12th May 1997.

The club fields Gaelic football teams at Under 8, 10, 12, 14 and 16. There are also Minor, Reserve, Thirds and Senior teams.

The full list of Championship and League titles claimed by Bellaghy teams at all levels (football and camogie) is impressive and space is not available to do justice to them all however, Bellaghy has won 21 Derry Senior Football Championships, more than any other team. They have also won the Ulster Senior Club Football Championship title on 4 occasions. In 1972, the team won the All-Ireland Senior Club Football Championship (the first club team to bring the title across the border)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *